

Federal Transit Administration

1835 Market Street Suite 1910 Philadelphia, PA 19103 215- 656-7100 215-656-7260 (fax) Federal Highway Administration 1201 College Park Drive Suite 102 Dover, DE 19904

302-734-5323

302-734-3066 (fax)

Refer to: HDA-DE

May 5, 2021

Ms. Marilyn Smith Executive Director Dover/Kent County MPO P.O. Box 383 Dover, DE 19903

Dear Ms. Smith:

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) have completed a joint review of the Dover Kent County Metropolitan Planning Organization's (DKCMPO) conformity determination for the Fiscal Year (FY) 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) and 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) for Kent County, Delaware.

In accordance with the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) and 23 CFR 450.322(1), the FHWA and the FTA must make a joint air quality conformity determination. Based on our evaluation of the material submitted, coordination with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3 Office (EPA), and input from DKCMPO, we have determined the amended Fiscal Year (FY) 2021-2024 TIP and 2045 MTP conform with the 1990 CAAA and 40 CFR Part 93, and, therefore, render a positive conformity determination for Kent County, DE for the 8-hour ozone (1997 standard). The EPA, by letter dated March 15, 2021, determined that the TIP and 2045 MTP meets the requirements, and they have no issues with the conformity determinations.

We have also determined that the TIP and MTP are based on a continuing, comprehensive transportation planning process carried on cooperatively by the State, MPOs, and transit operators in accordance with provisions of 23 USC 134 and 135 and 49 USC Sections 5303-5305. Based upon the information provided by DKCMPO, we concur that the TIP and MPT are fiscally constrained and that the TIP is consistent with the 2045 MTP.

If you have any questions, please contact Lindsay Donnellon, FHWA Delaware Division, (410) 779-7157, or Timothy Lidiak, FTA Region III, (215) 656-7084.

Sincerely yours,

Terry Garcia Crews Regional Administrator Federal Transit Administration Douglas S. Atkin Division Administrator Federal Highway Administration

cc via e-mail: Marc Coté, DelDOT Planning

Mike DuRoss, DelDOT Planning Gregory Becoat, EPA - Region 3 Kathleen Zubrzycki, FTA Region III Gail McFadden-Roberts, FTA Region III